CS 371p Blog Week 5

Blake Romero
2 min readSep 27, 2021

What did you do this past week?
This past week, I finished up a lab for Virtualization, and I was able to start taking a look at the Voting project for this class. I also took the UT Texas Government exam to get credit for my AP course this week, and I was glad to find out that I passed.

What’s in your way?
With some midterms coming up in the next couple of weeks, I’m starting to feel a little bit overwhelmed. I know that if I try to manage my time properly, I’ll be able to make it through satisfied.

What will you do next week?
This coming week, I have another lab to finish for Virtualization, then I have 2 midterms and 2 projects to start working on. I plan to get a good amount of work done on the Voting project before the weekend as well.

If you read it, what did you think of the Paper #5: Pair Programming?
I think that this paper does a great job of highlighting the benefits of pair programming. I’ve always had a great experience with pair programming in my classes. We always end up writing great code, and we seem to work better together than we usually would alone. I’m glad that we get the opportunity to utilize pair programming for some of the assignments in this class as well.

What was your experience of vector, list, and deque, and invalidation?
Since I didn’t come into this class with much experience in C++, it was good to learn about some of the different data structures that we can employ and the benefits and downsides of each. I also enjoyed how we compared them to data structures in Java, so it gave me something to base my analysis on. Learning about invalidation was also a good topic to cover, that way we can make sure we don’t misuse these data structures.

What made you happy this week?
This week, my parents sent me a care package from home completely unprompted, and it included some food and stuff that they know I like. I was really happy to get this from them and to know that they were thinking of me :)

What’s your tip-of-the-week?
My tip-of-the-week is to take a look at the VS Code extension Live Share. I’m sure you’ve probably heard about it already, but I cannot recommend it enough. It provides a lot of the benefits of pair programming, but it allows you to do so virtually, which I think is especially important right now.

--

--